About the Texas Permian Basin

The Permian Basin is an oil and natural gas reservoir in West Texas that covers almost 90,000 square miles. The Permian Basin is comprised of several smaller basins of sedimentary content, being the Midland Basin, Delaware Basin and Marfa Basin.  Within the various basins are a number of “pay zones,” including the Spraberry, Wolfberry, Wolfcamp, Bone Spring, Avalon and Leonard Shales.


Texas Permian Basin Counties:

Andrews County, Borden County, Coke County, Crane County, Crockett County, Dawson County, Ector County, Gaines County, Glasscock County, Howard County, Irion County, Loving County, Martin County, Midland County, Pecos County, Reeves County, Sterling County, Terrell County, Upton County, Ward County, and Winkler County.

New Mexico Permian Basin Counties:

Chaves County, Lea County, and Otero County.